Thank you sir. May I have another?

No doubt, as a result of being on a dramatic cell phone conversation, I’ve parked my car, walked away, and promptly forgotten what floor, let alone, which parking garage it’s in.  So, no surprise, upon entering Target– on the phone – I mindlessly strapped my purse into the baby seat of my shopping cart and proceeded to laundry supplies stopping along the way to gaze at pillows and t-shirts.  

Next thing I know, I’m pushing someone else’s cart and the purse is nowhere to be seen.  I retrace my steps, unsure of exactly what those steps were, because of my distraction. With no luck, I realize I’m lost in Target, my purse has vanished, I need to hang up and RUN directly to customer service.  I do, screaming “My purse is gone! My purse is gone!”   

The customer service chick (bless her red and white t-shirted heart) reacts fast putting out an all-points bulletin over the walki-talki, while customers waiting in line, talking on their cell phones, look on sympathetically. A voice belts back over the radio that a black purse is sitting in a cart in women’s sportswear.  I run back (in slow motion, this time, just for effect) and there it was… waiting for me…judging me.

Well, if anyone is going to judge me, then that warrants a glass of wine. Del Rio, Rogue Valley, 2005 Cabernet Sauvignon steps forward from the depths of Southern Oregon – and weighs in heavily.  Its layers of deep, green pine, oak and cedar present an enchanted forest, full of dark surly attitude.  For sure, this wine does not let you off the hook easily.  Its rich black current, berry and plum leads you down a direction of smooth tannins and tough love.  With a sturdy backbone, it doesn’t mince words on its rant about cell phone users:

“As if you have license to behave badly!” it says. “Go ahead and talk, it’s just a child you nearly ran over!” it says. “Right!  Of course it’s my fault, because you couldn’t get off your phone fast enough,” it says. “Society has gone to hell…and YOU are a contributor!” 

Leave a Reply

