Let Them Eat Cake on the Darkside

My friend wants to be cremated, then baked in a cake and served to his friends.  I’m not sure how I feel about this plan…and I do have a sweet tooth. Sweet served with savory is a great way to go, and I’m going with Darby 2007 ‘The Darkside’. Delving deep into the bowl, I lift my nose with the daunting scent of pulsating corn nuts – hard and salty and corny. This wine is all about the roasted salt of night with bursts of soy sauce, tanned leather, black currant and black pepper. It unfolds in a mysterious black thread of rich, dark salted chocolate with a puckery middle and a black licorice finish. Dare I say….ashy?

Photo: http://www.ambassadorofwine.com

Posted by Teri Citterman

One response to “Let Them Eat Cake on the Darkside

  1. Love Darby wines. Great to see one featured here! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

