No More Excuses! Gorman Winery ‘Pixie’ Paired with Peacock

Lucy! You have some ‘splainin’ to do! Here goes….My last blog post was my last bad date, and then I stopped drinking.  That’s the good news; the bad date, I mean.   For the last year, I’ve been dating a fantastically awesome guy….who doesn’t drink. That’s the bad news.

But it’s no excuse.  I’m getting back on the wagon and drinking up a storm in an effort to not fall off again. The next few posts are from a favorite Wine Press Northwest column that nobody’s probably read.  I always wanted to be an advice columnist. Here we go….

Dear Teri: My roommate enjoys birds and keeps several birdcages in our apartment with parrots, cockatiels and finches. The cages are immaculate, and there is only one problem: This winter three of her birds died, and my roommate wrapped them up and put them in our freezer. It’s a little bird morgue in there and kind of freaks me out.images

Ooooh! This is juicy. Tell your roommate Huey, Dewey and Louie are no longer parked between the carrots and the ice cubes. In fact, they’ve had a dignified sendoff right into their final resting place — a deep-dish baking pan. Olive oil, thyme and rosemary should mask any trace of freezer burn. Voila! You are in for one exotic evening. While I’ve never tasted parrot or anyone’s pet for that matter, I have to believe that Gorman Winery, Pixie 2009 Syrah will be a lovely accoutrement to roasted peacock or the like. This wine is smoky and sedultry. It’s dark with chewy tar. And a bite of this wine makes a fork full of cockatiel a non sequitur that pales in comparison. Is it that good? Indeed, it’s that good.

Leave a Reply

