David Sedaris Killed Billie Holiday

David Sedaris killed Billie Holiday for me. I know I’m not the only one, but since I heard his rendition of Silent Night in ‘Billie Holiday’ style, it’s ruined.  I cannot listen to her screechy, door-creaking voice, even when it really is her. It’s worse when he does the Oscar Mayer Wiener Song. It’s accurate and disturbing.  Dammit! I need a drink.

Fortunately, she sang a song called Lilac Wine, which, if you say out loud, sounds like you’re saying “I Like Wine”, which frankly, I can get on board with. Redemption.

Leave a Reply

